Cheap Auto Insurance New Jersey
Enter your zip code below to start your quote
You can pick up from where you left by retrieving your quote below.Search by Quote ID → Search by Date of Birth
New Jersey Cheap Auto Insurance
Whether you’re heading to Atlantic City for a weekend getaway or headed to Newark for a business meeting, New Jersey drivers need reliable insurance in case of an accident. That’s where Mercury Insurance comes into play. We believe every driver deserves solid protection at an affordable rate. Explore our cheap auto insurance options below and make the switch to Mercury today.
Minimum Auto Insurance Requirements in New Jersey
New Jersey establishes minimum auto insurance requirements for all drivers. Make sure you have this coverage to legally drive in New Jersey:
Minimum bodily injury liability: $25,000 per person and $50,000 per accident
- This coverage pays for others’ medical expenses if you’re responsible for the accident.
Property damage liability (PD): $25,000 per accident
- PD helps pay repair costs if you damaged another person’s vehicle or property.
Personal injury protection (PIP): $15,000
- PIP covers medical expenses no matter who’s responsible for the accident.
Uninsured/underinsured bodily injury coverage: $25,000 per person and $50,000 per accident
- This coverage pays for medical bills when the at-fault driver doesn’t have enough — or any — insurance to cover the incurred expenses.
Uninsured/underinsured property damage coverage: $25,000 per accident with a $500 deductible
- This coverage pays for damages to your car or property when the at-fault driver doesn’t have enough — or any — insurance to cover the incurred expenses.
Optional Auto Insurance Coverages
If you want extra peace of mind on the road, Mercury offers additional protection. You can count on us to build a cheap auto insurance plan specific to your needs. See all our coverage options below:
Penalties for Driving Without Auto Insurance in New Jersey
New Jersey requires all drivers to carry proof of auto insurance. Driving without auto insurance can lead to several penalties. The state may suspend your driver’s license for up to two years, impound your vehicle, and sentence you to jail for up to 14 days. You might also receive fines anywhere from $300-$5,000 and an annual $250 surcharge for three years, totaling $750.
Mercury offers affordable car insurance without sacrificing quality support and service. Talk with an agent today to help you find cheap car insurance.
Drivers save hundreds* when switching to Mercury Insurance.
*Individual savings may vary.
Lower Your Auto Insurance Rate with Discounts
Mercury is one of the best cheap auto insurance companies in New Jersey. Do you know what makes us even better? You can reduce your insurance premiums with one or more of our auto discounts.
Check out a few we offer:
- Anti-Theft Feature Discount
- AutoPay Discount
- E-Signature Discount
- Electric Vehicle Discount
- Good Student Discount
- Multi-Policy Discount
- Pay-in-Full Discount
Save Hundreds by Switching to Mercury Insurance
At Mercury, we’re committed to keeping your auto insurance rate low. Our insurance fraud investigations arm — the Special Investigation Unit (SIU) — works with federal and local law enforcement to shut down hundreds of fraud rings each year. These scammers not only undermine the insurance industry but also affect you by driving up insurance premium costs. That’s one of the reasons how we can deliver affordable rates and first-class coverage to you and all our policyholders.
If you’re looking for cheap auto insurance in New Jersey, you’ve come to the right place. Start your free quote online and see how much money you can save!